Survey says….

I take surveys if they are from companies I do business with.  A lot of people don’t want to take the time to do this.  But they should.  Why?  Because if you are truly interested in helping the companies you spend money with get better,  like I am, then it’s worth a few minutes of your time to help make them better.  I expect the businesses I spend money with to provide me with outstanding service.  My commitment back to them is that I will let them know in one way or another how they have measured up. I took an on line survey a few days ago from East Bay BMW located in Pleasanton, CA.  I’ve been doing business with them for about eight years and they consistently meet my very high expectations for customer service and quality.  I am a highly satisfied customer.  However, during my recent service event the Service Adviser dropped the ball on one small item by not following up on with me about a question I had presented to him upon dropping off the car.  He never got back to me.  I mentioned this in the survey. This afternoon I received a call from the East Bay BMW Service Manager who said he was following up on the issue I raised in the survey.  I explained what happened and within seconds he had an apology and an answer to my question.  He made a very satisfied customer even more satisfied.  BMW could have let the issue go.  After all I gave very high scores the rest of the survey.  But real good companies look for opportunities to connect  with their customers on an emotional level. Companies that provide excellent customer service can sometimes be invisible and even taken for granted. So when there is a blip they don’t hesitate.  They seize the opportunity and face into the problem head on.  And customers should do the same thing.  Look for opportunities to tell them how they are doing. The message here is give feedback.  Take the survey; tell the clerk thank you for the good job; let the manager know that your dissatisfied; write a letter, make a phone call.  Be an active consumer.  Advocate for good service.   It will make a difference.  It’s like the Beatles said, “and in the end, the love you take, is equal to the love you make”.

Leave a Reply

