I shouldn’t have to OPT-OUT

I received my new life insurance policy from MetLife this week.   The cover letter instructed me to look it over and make sure everything was correct.  Upon review I was a little puzzled when I saw that I had a chance to “opt out”.  There was a form called an Opt Out Form.    Hey wait – I just signed up and was approved for this $500,000 policy.  Why would I want to opt out? As I looked down the form I realized I would not be opting out of my policy but opting out of allowing the company to share my name and information with dozens of other companies.  Oh, and by the way it will take only 45 days for my name to be removed from the list.  How generous of Met Life.  How considerate of them that they would treat a new customer this way.  How truly noble of them to give me the opportunity to avoid  receiving scads of telemarketing calls during dinner.  To think I did not have to even pay a penny more for this “service” is unfathomable in this day and age.  MetLife obviously takes this stuff seriously.  After all, they have a Center dedicated to this cause.  It’s called the “MetLife Privacy Center” and this is where I was directed to send the form.  Is this company awesome or what!?!

To repay MetLife for this kindness I have resolved to not die in the next 20 years so that Met Life will not  have to pay a single penny to my beneficiaries.  Yes, after this great customer experience I just want to pay them my $1,500 per year, for the next 20 years, and be as little bother to them as possible…

Michael K. Farrell, President of MetLife, and the guy who sent me the letter certainly takes my privacy and satisfaction seriously. I’m sure of it because in the letter he says he is “honored” that I have chose MetLife.  Honored is a strong word and I am sure Mr. Farrell wouldn’t use that word if he didn’t mean it.  Honor usually goes with other words like, value, esteem, and reputation.  Oh, and trust.

Yes, trust. As in I should be able to trust a company I will spend $30,000 with over the next 20 years to not share my information until I provide them with explicit permission to do so.  If Mr. Farrell is truly honored to have me as a customer he would never treat me this way.  In actuality I trust that Farrell is honored that my name and personal information, along with thousands of other honored customer’s information creates a healthy revenue stream for his company.

When I called MetLife Customer Service express my displeasure with this arrangement of information sharing I was reminded that I could opt-out.  I said I would do so but was interested to know what happened during those 45 days it takes to process my request (even though I knew the answer).  The rep confirmed that my info would be shared during that period and, wait for it……  yep –  that there were no controls in place to prohibit the companies they had already shared my information with from continuing to market to me once my form was processed.

When I shared this customer experience with a friend he said, “so your canceling the policy, right?”.   What would you do?

Leave a Reply

